How to live with the quiet

14915638817_7696be8270_bI have a confession to make…I am not good at being calm and quiet. I am so used to living with a certain amount of stress and anxiety in my life that, as I have gotten better at managing these things, I am realizing I no longer know what to do with myself when it is calm. When it is quiet. 

It is often in these quieter moments when my brain decides to go into overdrive. I am a classic over-thinker. I start to analyze small, benign events and blow them up into something much larger than they ever needed to be. My mind will go and go, and my anxiety will begin to build.

All because I do not know what to do with the calm and the quiet.

I have known for awhile now that I do better when I am busy. Being busy is good for me and, as an extrovert, being around people and being social is the best kind of medicine. It calms my mind and makes my heart feel happy.

I’ve also said–for years–that I feel like I am most  productive when I have a certain level of stress. It propels me forward and makes me get things done. I may be  a perfectionist, but my perfectionism trait does not come with procrastination…it is a bit of a kick in the butt to get going and get it all done.

However, I am not busy and going, going, going, all the time. It is these moments that I need to learn how to live with. How to be okay with the quiet and not create larger problems for myself. When it is quiet, I often feel that loneliness creep in, and then this brain of mine likes to take off…

I have tried mediation. Classic meditation is not easy for me. My mind goes wild, even as I am telling it to shut up. 🙂 Guided mediation is much better–though finding the time and peace and quiet to focus on it is often a challenge.

What tips do you all have for stopping the cycle of overthinking, and learning to live without stress?

Leave a Reply

